Hall of Fame Nomination

Heather Fuhr to be inducted into the Triathlete Hall of Fame

Nov. 30, 2007 — Press Release: Triathlete magazine has announced former Hawaii Ironman world champion Heather Fuhr as its 2008 inductee into the Triathlete Hall of Fame.

One of the most prolific Ironman-distance racers in the history of the sport, Heather owns 15 Ironman titles, including her win at the 1997 Ironman World Championship. Fuhr’s 2.51 run split at Ironman Switzerland is the second-fastest Ironman marathon by a woman.

With her induction, Heather joins the inaugural Hall of Fame class of 1998, which consists of triathlon founders Tom Warren, Bill Shanahan, David Pain, Bill Phillips and Jack Johnstone; the 1999 class of Dave Scott, John Collins, John Howard, Sally Edwards and Valerie Silk; the 2000 class of Julie Moss, Scott Tinley, Carl Thomas and Jim Curl; 2001 inductee Scott Molina; 2002 inductee Mark Allen; 2003 inductees Sylviane and Patricia Puntous; 2004 inductees Dan Empfield and Mike Pigg; 2005 inductee Paula Newby Fraser; 2006 inductees Greg Welch and Erin Baker; and 2007 inductee Les MacDonald.

“Heather has one of the most illustrious careers in the history of the sport,” says Triathlete magazine publisher John Duke. “It is my honor to induct her into the Triathlete Hall of Fame.”

Triathlete is the world’s largest triathlon magazine. For more information, please contact: Shannon Frank, (760) 634-4100 (phone), (760) 634-4110 (fax) or e-mail shannon@triathletemag.com.